BAGGAGE CLAIM


Baggage Claim

*****

It growls inside my soul,

seeking liberation like a bird in a cage,

yet I can’t seem to let go of this unhealthy embrace

between me and these rascally feelings

of frustration and jealousy

running like free radicals within my essence,

ever after the glaring evidence of her exodus.

*****

Though it is almost becoming a welcome inhabitant

and a silent but defiant comforter

in lonely moments of untamed reminiscence,

I guess it’s about time,

all these pent up emotions have to go,

because this is one unbridled baggage

I can’t afford to tarry with, ever again.

*****

Written by: Ndifreke Efiok Akpan.

This post was written based on Kellie Elmore’s FWF: BAGGAGE CLAIM.

2 Replies to “BAGGAGE CLAIM”

Leave a Reply

